• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 338sniper

Marksman
    Rating - 97.2%
    35   1   0
    Jul 15, 2012
    I have an all electric home. With 3 kids and my wife and I sometimes hot water is no longer an option when I go to shower at night. I am considering an electric tankless water heater. Can someone educate me in how to determine the size (kW) I need and if it's worth doing. I do HVAC for a living so I would guess I could install it myself.

here is what I was looking at...
    i have 2 bathrooms, dishwasher, and washing machine.

Stiebel Eltron Tempra 36 Plus 36.0 kW Whole House Tankless Electric Water Heater at Menards

PeaShooter

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    you need to figure out what the maximum flow through the heater will be, along with what water temperature rise is desired. Start with your incoming water temp, usually 45-55deg, figure out where you want to be in terms of output temp. Figure out how many fixtures you want to keep hot water at the same time and calculate their flow rates (low flow showers 2gal/min, sinks 2gal/min, tubs ?). Look at the sizing curve on the technical details from the website. Follow the curve for your model until it intersects with the desired flow-rate and then determine if it will have sufficient temperature rise capacity at that flow for your application and adjust sizing accordingly.

BTW, I am not a plumber, just an electrical engineer who likes to do-it-myself, also. YMMV

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN