• Total voters
    • Poll closed .

Bill B

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 2, 2009
    RA 0 DEC 0
    Hey all, like most everybody that grew up hunting I was always taught that the 12 gauge shotgun was the required firearm for most midwest hunting, and I've been using my Mossberg 500 for almost 20 years now and it works like a champ.
    Here's the dilemma; my shoulders are starting to bother me enough that I am starting to flinch throwing off my shots. Unlike 99.9% of the internet I was never a sniper @ camp perry, so this is really an issue.
    Many of the hunting/outdoor magazines that I have seen, and even a number of reliable web sites, are talking about 20 gauge being almost as good as a 12 with the new ammo that's available.
    So, I am thinking about "downsizing" to a 20 gauge. Most of my hunting with the 12 is deer hunting in Michigan. My biggest concern is the lack of buckshot availability for a 20, but I guess I could load my own.
    thoughts?

Ryninger

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Sep 5, 2008
    Newburgh
    Nothing wrong with 20's, have you tried some lighter (reduced recoil) loads for the 12g?

Coming from archery, a fast miss is still a miss... Shoot what allows you to hit your target!

As far as deer hunting, I've seen many a youth take deer with a .410.

Bradsknives

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 1, 2010
    Greenfield, IN.
    I have been deer hunting with a 20ga. for the last 7 years. The 20ga. tends to shoot flatter than the 12ga. which I like for sighting in purposes. I have taken 6 bucks with it and don't see any difference or lack of performance over a 12ga. It's all about shot placement more than anything else. :twocents:

OneBadV8

Stay Picky my Friends
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008
    Ft Wayne
    If you really like it have you looked into possibly getting a gunsmith to add brake holes to your barrel to reduce recoil?

Recoil pad?