• ...and so much more!
  • Hutchelly@1121

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 18, 2021
    Beech Grove
    I am still very new to the reloading world and just got my holiday lock and load press and Lee dies. It did not come with a crimping die I am reloading 308 for hunting and more precision shooting out of bolt actions. Is crimping needed

Bill2905

Master
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Feb 1, 2021
    Lake County
    For a bolt gun, your Lee sizing die should provide sufficient neck tension (the amount of grip on the bullet). If you decide to go down the rabbit hole of precision reloading, there are a number of tools and methods for controlling your neck tension.

There is nothing wrong with crimping and it's a personal choice. I do not crimp any bottleneck rounds for bolt guns.

Last edited:

TangoFoxtrot

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 22, 2018
    United states
    I am still very new to the reloading world and just got my holiday lock and load press and Lee dies. It did not come with a crimping die I am reloading 308 for hunting and more precision shooting out of bolt actions. Is crimping needed
    Old man Lee makes some VERY compelling arguments for crimping. You'll find this is heated topic among precision shooters.. I personally believe in a light crimp because if trimming etc are done properly, a light crimp can ensure that you are getting the same pressure build before release... I will say you can accomplish the same thing by controlling neck tension. It's art crafting the perfect round and then there is just reloading. Read Lee's logic for crimping before you decide.. I will say you can accomplish the same results either way.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Whip_McCord

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 14, 2010
    NWI
    As others have stated:
    semi auto - crimp
    Bolt gun - no crimp