• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sdtech58

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Apr 25, 2014
    Z'ville
    I did a quick search, and didn't find much. How old were your kids when you brought them to the range with you to let them shoot? I'm sure it's more of a maturity thing than it is a certain age, just like there are 40 year olds that probably shouldn't drink alcohol. So how old were your kids the first time they shot a firearm, and how did you keep them interested in it?

I believe my daughter, with proper safety training, is probably ready. I would assume most start with a .22 rifle, and go from there. Any other suggestions or suggestions for a first firearm for the kiddos?

Tombs

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    Martinsville
    I started shooting as soon as I could operate a BB gun, shortly after I had a bolt action 22lr around the age of 5 and have been shooting ever since.

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    My son was around 5, after a few minutes of the rules ( we did that every time we shot ) and then reasons for the rules we had learning to shoot correctly. After that we had FUN. Remember to keep it fun, buy cheap soda in cans, a few spinner targets, some targets that hold clay pigeons, I used CB's so no headgear was needed and we could talk as we were shooting. Later I bought a can to keep things quiet.
    Fun is key..... Buy a rifle that fits them NOW not in three years, for 150 bucks it can easily be done. Money well spent.
    A heavy oversized rifle is no fun for a kid to shoot..

Harleyrider_50

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Nov 19, 2010
    So. Indiana
    I started shooting as soon as I could operate a BB gun, shortly after I had a bolt action 22lr around the age of 5 and have been shooting ever since.