• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 03A3

Expert
    Jan 8, 2009
    Shaker Prairie
    I've been dinking with a couple of 10/22's to have ready for next year.
    Today on the bottom of the buttstocks I filed flats spots to mount 1903 Springfield rear sling swivels. Without filing a flat spot they just weren't going to work out near as well due to the radius at the bottom of the stocks. I took my time and it turned out pretty good. I still need to stain these areas and get some BLO on them.
    These are actual, moving swivels. I'm going to angle the swivel loops forward somewhat and tack weld them in place with a MIG from the bottom, then cold blue the welds. I like the non-swiveling Garand/M14/M16 type rear sling attachment.
    For the front sling swivels I'm using M14 swivels. I'm still studying on the hardware I need. I'm thinking about using machine screws/washers/nuts. That will be a little more involved than just using wood screws.
    I have some bolt releases, and one lever-type magazine release.
    I still need to get the Tech sights.
    I thought I was out of Garand/M14 slings but found some that I'd hid from myself.
    All of the trigger group and receiver guts are original factory stuff.
    When I get them together I'm going to shoot with and without the front band, and experiment with barrel bedding.
    I need to practice as much as I can.
    I'm pretty excited about getting to go to some Appleseeds next year. I should be able to make Riley, Cloverdale, Evansville and Carmi. Maybe some others too but I need to check into that better.

Bill of Rights

Cogito, ergo porto.
    Site Supporter
    Apr 26, 2008
    Where's the bacon?
    I've been dinking with a couple of 10/22's to have ready for next year.