• ...and so much more!
  • teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    65 Satterlee Test.jpg

So, I've had my 6.5 creedmoor for a while now and up till I started shooting beyond 1,000 yards I've been quite happy with the groups I was getting out of factory ammo. I'm trying to work up a load using Satterlee method loading in increments and measuring the results with a magneto speed chronograph. I've done some variations of this before in the past, but thought I stopped short in the powder charge. This time I wanted to go till I saw a pressure sign, and on the last round I had the first blown primer in all my years of reloading. The bolt never got noticeably heavy or any other kind of sign.

When I look at this chart trying to find the "flat spots" or nodes, I'm outside of my wheelhouse. On the one hand, 44.1 looks like it'd be worth a try, but that's way up there in the pressure close and I don't think that's a good idea. Next it makes me want to look into the 42.1 - 42.7 range a little deeper. After that, I'm thinking about the 40.3 - 40.9 range, but that's getting to be on the slow side of things.

I'm willing to trade off speed for better accuracy, and I shoot in sandy, rainy, less than ideal conditions frequently so I don't feel like flirting with over pressure on the high end of the pressure scale either.

Thoughts? This method is still a little new to me compared to the old days of loading up 5 rounds at half grain increments and shooting groups all day long.

jrh84

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jun 9, 2009
    Columbus