• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • .Bear.

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 29, 2012
    Hello all,

I'm an Illinois resident with an FOID card. (I know that means nothing to the rest of the country, lol) In the past I would drive to the Winamac outdoor range and target shoot with my rifles & handguns. I've recently heard that I'm not allowed to shoot handguns there (rifles only)? :dunno: Is this the case?

Thank You,
    Bear

Darral27

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Aug 13, 2011
    Elwood
    As long as you are transporting the guns properly I see no reason why you could not shoot a pistol there. Since Illinois does not offer a carry permit you do have to have the guns locked up and out of reach while transporting. Also welcome to the forum.

Mgderf

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    43   0   0
    May 30, 2009
    Lafayette
    I'm not familiar with that range, but barring any restrictions of THEIRS, you should be good to go.

I'm fairly certain your FOID card acts as LTCH here. I could be wrong on that point, and if I am I'm sure others will be by shortly to let both of us know.

cobber

Parrot Daddy
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Sep 14, 2011
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Reliable hearsay is great. Hearsay in general is fraught with mis-information.

Who imparted this gem to you?

Relevant law in a nutshell:

IC 35-47-2-1
    Carrying a handgun without a license or by a person convicted of domestic battery; exceptions
    Sec. 1. (a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c) and section 2 of this chapter, a person shall not carry a handgun in any vehicle or on or about the person's body without being licensed under this chapter to carry a handgun.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (c), a person may carry a handgun without being licensed under this chapter to carry a handgun if: