• ...and so much more!
  • kawtech87

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    44   0   0
    Nov 17, 2011
    Martinsville
    images

I have an '81 Yam XS650. The charging system is dead. Loose wire? Dead rotor? I keep it on a trickle charger and used to take it on short rides. Won't run with a dead battery. What do you know about permanent magnet alternators? If you're outside my door wanna help me fix it? Electricity baffles me. Lota stuff on the web about this, but the mod is endless.

I am a motorcycle tech by trade. I would be happy to help you fix it! Sounds like you need to check the stator output. Unplug the stator, Start the bike (yes the bike will start without the stator pluged in it uses the battery to start) and then check for voltage between the prongs. There should be 12+ AC volts(or what is stated by a quality service manual and Yes AC Volts as this will be before the rectifier converts it to DC) on each of the 3 prongs. If not your stator is dead and needs to be replaced. Or if that is to much do the same thing but instead of starting the bike leave it off and check for resistance between the three prongs. If there is more than 3 ohms of resistance (or whatever is stated by a quality service manual) between any of the prongs or if any prong shows an open line then its dead and needs to be replaced. If that is to much then start the bike and hook a volt meter to the battery and put it on the DC volts and note the reading, rev the bike a little and it should start to climb up to atleast 13-14 volts, if it does not then either the stator is dead or the voltage regulator/rectifier is dead. Testing a regulator/rectfier is a little more tricky as it involes diodes and such. Test the stator first, if its good try a new rectifier/regulator. Hope this helps.

3 phase PMS (permanent magnet systems) systems are easy. 3 phase EMS (electromagnet systems) systems are more complicated but work just like a cars alternator.