• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MilitaryArms

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 19, 2008
    I have been thinking hard about making the switch from a Glock 19 for daily carry to the M&P 9.

I've been evaluating the handguns side by side for several months now and have decided the M&P won't be my next daily carry gun.

I started considering the M&P because of how good it felt in my hands. It's not perfect, mind you, but it seemed to be more ergonomic than most other pistols in its class in most areas, except for one (for me). I also liked that it doesn't use a polygonal barrel so it's safe for me to shoot my lead target loads without having to swap barrels.

The grip fits my large hands perfectly. The only thing that doesn't fit quite right is the trigger. I should say the reach of the trigger is too close to the grip frame for my hands. It's designed for someone with much smaller hands than mine. I am forced to hook my trigger finger over the trigger which is something I don't really like doing and it feels odd to me. But I was trying to get used to it. That alone may not have prevented me from adopting the M&P as my daily carry gun. There's one more problem with the trigger.

I dislike the trigger itself. It's creepy, lets off all the way back where it's practically touching the grip frame (see my comments above about it already being too short) and it lacks a reset that I can feel or hear. The issues with the trigger keeps me from shooting the M&P as well as I do my Glocks. Even when dry firing, no matter how careful I am with my trigger control, when it lets off I can see the sights move slightly. With my Glocks the sights remain rock solid on the target, so this tells me something with the ergonomics and the trigger are conspiring to make super accurate aimed fire difficult for me with the pistol.